CHUBU – 中部

CHUBU (中部) –  is one of the eight traditional regions of Japan.

The Chubu Region is located in the central portion of Honshu, which is the largest island of Japan. The Chubu Region covers a large and geographically diverse area. It has coastline on both the Sea of Japan and on the Pacific Ocean. The central part of Chubu contains a substantial mountain range known as the Japanese Alps. These mountains divide Chubu into separate climate zones. Along the Pacific Ocean, the climate is sunny in winter. Along the Sea of Japan, the climate is snowy in winter.

Here is a link to this image & more info about the Chubu Region of Japan:

The Chubu Region is divided into three subregions:

  • HOKURIKU Region – this portion of northwestern Chubu is located between the mountains of Central Honshu and the Sea of Japan. There are ports located in Hokuriku which handle trade with Russia, Korea and China. There is also a substantial industrial base in Hokuriku, including manufacturing and development of oil & gas reserves in this area. Hokuriku has heavy snowfall in winter.
  • KOSHIN’ETSU Region– this portion of northeastern Chubu is called “the roof of Japan”. The population centers are in six high valleys of the Japanese Alps which are connected by narrow valleys. Historically Koshin’etsu was known for silk production, but in recent decades the labor force has transformed into light manufacturing, including: precision instruments, machinery, textiles, and food processing.
  • TOKAI Region – this portion eastern Chubu is a narrow strip of land containing mountains that descend into the Pacific Ocean. Historically, the Tokai Region has been an important link between the population centers of Tokyo, Kyoto, and Osaka. The Tokaido Road is an ancient road that connected Edo (the ancient city of Tokyo) with the ancient capital of Kyoto. The Tokai Region is also the site of Japan’s beloved MOUNT FUJI.
  • In business circles, a portion of Chubu is commonly referred to as the CHUKYO Region. Three prefectures of Chubu centered on Nagoya have particularly strong economic sites and the areas closest to the City of Nagoya are known as the “Chukyo Metropolitan Area.

Here are links to the PREFECTURES of Japan’s Chubu Region:


The EIGHT Regions of Japan are not official administrative units, but are traditionally used to refer to different portions of Japan … in maps … in geography textbooks … in weather reports … & other usage.

Each region contains several Prefectures … except for the Region of Hokkaido … which only includes the Island of Hokkaido.

Here is a link to this map & more information about the Regions of Japan:

From north to south, the traditional regions of Japan are:

  • Hokkaido Region – the Island of Hokkaido and nearby islands.
  • Tohoku Region – the northern portion of the Island of Honshu.
  • Kanto Region – the eastern portion of the Island of Honshu.
  • Chubu Region – the central portion of the Island of Honshu.
  • Kansai Region – the west-central portion of the Island of Honshu.
  • Chugoku Region – the western portion of the Island of Honshu.
  • Shikoku Region – the Island of Shikoku.
  • Kyushu – the Island of Kyushu and the Island of Okinawa.


NOTE : This site contains links to our ”favorite” and “most useful” websites . . . but SLP does not endorse or guarantee any of the products or services available through the links on our pages.

本站包含了我們的 “最愛” 以及 “最有用” 的網站連結,但春田語言計劃並不保證其連結的有效性或對其背書.

Copyright ©2020 Springfield Linguistics Project. All rights reserved.
版權所有 ©2020 Springfield Linguistics Project
. 保留所有權利.